via Daily Prompt: Vanish

Vanish

Some days, in some moments, I wish I could vanish.

To have that ability to disappear into thin air, only to reappear once I am ready to face the world again.

A magical quality that with the snap of my fingers, would give me the chance to step back and take a breather.

Whether it’s due to anger, frustration, an awkward situation or even an embarrassing moment.

In a flash my power would release me.

But where would I go?

Would anyone still remember?

I may be able to vanish, but the memory of me would still live on.

I may think in those overwhelming moments that things would be better if I could just disappear, and perhaps it would help me. Taking that moment to step back from reality would be a blessing…..for me.

But what about those people around me? Who love me. Who care about me.

Would it scare them?

Would they worry about the possibility of my never returning?

My selfish superpower would only serve myself.

So I will accept the fact that it’s not going to happen.

My time outs will be served in this realm, like an ordinary human.

My real life superpower is my strength and ability to face life head on.

No matter what.

I will trudge on day by day, for one day I really will be gone from this earth for good.

I will have vanished from this life and taken into the next.

And the thought of that scares me.

