via Daily Prompt: Moody

I ended my very sleepless week last week with a trip to the doctor.

It wasn’t just me that needed to be seen, but my youngest daughter who has been battling this cold off and on for a week or so had finally developed this horrific cough and fevers.

She was miserable, I was miserable.

(We made quite the team!)

I am not a fan of any type of waiting room that involves sick people.

I like to get in and get out of the doctors office with minimal exposure to others. I don’t want to talk, I don’t want to make eye contact. I want to keep to myself in my misery and try not to catch whatever germs are floating in the air or resting on objects…. (Okay, so maybe I am a slight germaphobe)

I knew that we may have a wait ahead of us, so like usual, I packed my daughter a small bag of items to keep her entertained. She wanted one of her novels, a stuffed animal and her Leap Pad.

Perfect.

We were all signed in and sitting pretty, ignoring the other Moody , sick people. (This one woman actually was losing her mind at the staff….it was ridiculous. I was tempted to yell at her for yelling at the staff…) My daughter had put her earphones on and was playing some video games while we waited.

The next thing you know, this little boy is running through the building. He was about 7 or 8 and was rather rambunctious and certainly not listening to his very irritated father.

This boy spots my daughter and makes a beeline for her, or should I say her Leap Pad. For a brief moment, I thought they knew each other from school.

(Yeah….Nope)

The father sees what his boy is about to do and starts yelling across the room for him to stop and get back to him. The boy turns around, shouts at his dad than tries to grab the Leap Pad out of my daughters hands. She had a good grip on it, so she wasn’t about to let go of it.

My first instinct was to snatch it up and tell the boy that it wasn’t polite to grab other peoples things, but the father was already yelling at him (Not that he came over to deal with the situation- he seemed to prefer the annoying long distance lecture)  So I didn’t want to scare the kid, or add to the drama. His dad was creating enough of a scene. (I didn’t know who I felt worse for, the boy or his dad….)
I kept staring at the dad and nodding my head toward the situation (like helloooo…. deal with your kid properly…..) but he just ignored me.

While I was slightly stewing internally about how my daughter and I had been disturbed, and how to handle this situation without coming off like the Wicked Witch of the West, something happened.

The little boy asked my daughter if she knew how to play the game.

My daughter (who is six years old by the way) smiles at him and says:

“Of course, I know. Would you like to play with me?”

The little boy sat down next to her, grabbed her game and started to play.

I was annoyed at first. He was hogging it. He was being bossy and I knew my daughter wasn’t well and didn’t want anything to further aggravate her. I was hoping this dad would take control of his kid, but he didn’t. He just sat back and let his kid hog my daughters toy.

I was annoyed, but I sat back and just watched the situation and let my daughter take the lead. After all, I can’t always intervene, she needs to learn how to handle these situations.

The two kids played for a few minutes.

I watched.

My annoyance at the situation slowly turned to pride.

This boy wasn’t exactly being polite, but my daughter was.

My daughter didn’t have to share her Leap Pad with the kid, but she did.

My daughter wasn’t feeling well and she still was open, friendly and willing to try to make a new friend.

Wow.

Her mother may be the worlds biggest grump, but turns out she isn’t.

Watching how she handled the situation really helped improve my ‘Waiting Room’ mood.

So did the fact that five minutes later we were called into see the doctor.

(Toodles fellow germy people!)

I just hope after all that toy sharing, that the little boy doesn’t end up with the strep throat my daughter was ultimately diagnosed with!

As it turns out, it was MY KID that was one of those contagious waiting room people.

(Oh the irony!)

