via Daily Prompt: Automatic

 This target hangs on my living room wall.

img_3404

Assumptions and judgments begin the moment people see it:

Some people may look at it and think: She must own guns.

Some people may look at it and think: She must be an enthusiast.

Some people may look at it and think: She must hunt.

Some people may look at it with offensive and think: Clearly she supports gun rights or even death.

Some people may look at it and think: She must be violent.

Some people may look at it and think: Neat.

Some people may look at it and think: That has to have a story!

Some people may look at it and think: Where do I get one?

Some people may not notice it at all.

I look at that target and smile.

The truth is: It is not a statement. It does not represent anything in my house and under my roof-including my beliefs. It is not political. It’s not for intimidation. It’s not about gun rights, death or hunting. It’s not art. It’s not something you can just buy.

It is part of a memory.

It was just an item on my bucket list. 

It represents an evening of fun with family, after my uncle heard it was something I always thought I would be good at if I tried. I was provided with some education on guns, safety etc…. I was given a safety lesson. Under experienced guidance and supervision, I was given the chance to try something new that was out of my comfort zone. There is no desire to own one. There is no desire to hunt or kill. I just wanted to shoot a paper target and see if I could actually hit it. Nothing more. Nothing less. That memory now hangs on my wall as a reminder that I did something outside my norm and achieved another goal on my list! Lets face it- it makes for an interesting conversation piece!

(Naturally I also may use it to scare off my daughters boyfriends… but that’s a whole other story! 😉 )

How simple and uncomplicated the truth can be if we just not automatically assume.

Post inspired by today’s Daily Prompt: Automatic

