As promised a couple of weeks ago- Here is my first book recommendation. I thought I would kick this new blog feature off with a bit of fun, so I am starting things off with one of the funniest books I have read in a long time. 

You can look for my book recommendations to be posted on Wednesdays. (I am still working out the details…. so I am unsure if this will be a weekly or bi-weekly event! Stay tuned!) 

Enjoy!

Reenie’s Book Recommendation:

I love to laugh. I love to crack jokes. Whether you know me personally or from reading my blog, you know that I will try to find humor in even the crappiest of situations. I come from a very goofy line of DNA and I seem to have passed that funny-bone torch  on to my children. (The laughter must be kept alive!)

Recently I went through a slump where I was having the hardest time finding or focusing on novels. It was quite the reading drought and very unlike me.

One of the ways I brought myself out of it was to focus on genres I like- but don’t read enough of: Non-Fiction, Biographies, Memoirs etc…. and I decided to focus on celebrities and topics that are of current interest to me.

Instead of picking up a tabloid magazine- Try purchasing books written by or about celebrities.

One such book is the focus of today’s recommendation.

Kathy Griffin’s Celebrity Run In’s- from A-Z

We all know her as the red headed shock comic who has both made us laugh and cringe through the years. I have previously read her book “Official Book Club Selection” (Which I also recommend!) so when I heard her new book  “Kathy Griffin’s Celebrity Run-Ins from A-Z” had hit stores- I was buying it, I didn’t care about the cost because I knew it would be worth every penny. I wanted to hear what her interactions with all the celebrities were like!

She did not let me down. (But you did Anna Kendrick… just sayin’)

Kathy Griffin has taken a lot of her celebrity encounters throughout her career and has placed them in alphabetical order. She certainly doesn’t hold anything back (Which is one of the things I love about her!) and it is fantastic!

She tells us the good, the bad and the ugly when it comes to how some of our favorite celebrities have interacted (or not wanted to) with her throughout the years. Some of the chapters are short, others are a bit longer and regardless of chapter size, it was most certainly a page turner! I was always reading bits and pieces out loud to my husband so he could laugh too.

Stories off the top of my head that I remember I really enjoyed: Woody Allen, Kirstie Alley, Anderson Cooper, The Night Stalker, Ashton Kutcher, Anna Kendrick…. just to name a few…. I’m not even going to tell you what they are about….I refuse to spoil anything…..but ‘The Night Stalker’ one…. WOW. That one was an extremely interesting piece!

It really is an easy book to read. It comes across very conversational and as I read it, I could hear her speaking like she was in the room performing one of her stand up shows. I really hope she writes a sequel to this with even more stories. I will be first in line for a copy!

This is the kind of book you want to share with your friends. 

(Which is why I am telling you to give it a read!)

I found it to be an incredibly entertaining vacation read, so if you have any trips planned or want to venture into a genre or book that is outside of your zone- Try giving ‘Celebrity Run In’s’ a chance. Dr. Reenie prescribes it to all of you who could use a little (or a lot) of laughter in your life.

You WILL laugh.

(…..and if you don’t- we may need to check your vitals….)

Happy Reading!

