I’m extremely tired this morning, but as I slept the full night for once- I am going to blame the weather for this fatigue and general grumpiness I am feeling.

My moods have a tendency to swing with the weather. 

It keeps raining here, you know what they say “April Showers Bring May Flowers!” but I have my own saying “April Showers can #$%^ right off!” (Okay- that may be the grey skies and lack of caffeine in my system talking…..) 

This time of year always has me singing songs from the musical Seven Brides For Seven Brothers: “March comes in like a lion what else…..Still the Snow… Never melts….April Showers will come so they say…..but they don’t…. and it’s May…….” (then of course you have to transition over to the song where Spring finally shows up) “Oh the barnyard is busy in a regular tizzy…..and the obvious reason is because of the season…….Ma Natures lyrical with her yearly miracle…….Spring….Spring….Spring……”

I will say that even though I am currently off my anti-depressants, overall my moods haven’t been swinging that much lately and truth be told my depression doesn’t feel as dark. While I have had a few panic attacks since my surgery and the temporary removal of my meds, overall my anxiety isn’t as bad as it has been. I think the fact that I am going through these ‘healing’ surgeries are helping ease some of the anxiety that has been overwhelming me in the past year. While I think it does suck that I am going through these surgeries and having to deal with a modified lifestyle and some uncertainty- the fact that I know that SOMEONE is trying to cure me- that has really helped my outlook lately. (I will blog more about that at another time) 

 Note: I am currently off my antidepressants because the painkillers prescribed to me after my surgery don’t mix well with my other prescriptions- ALWAYS consult with your doctor and double check with your pharmacist when adding new prescriptions to the mix!

It’s better to be safe and ask questions than be sorry! 

Spring being in the air helps too! Even if the grey and rainy weather is making me a bit ‘Grumpy’ lately- the fact that we are on the cusp of amazing weather certainly lends to happier emotions.

I can’t wait until I can sit on my back deck reading and playing with the dog while soaking up the suns rays.

I can’t wait until the flowers start coming out and the buds on the trees are blooming. I want to walk through the neighborhood and watch how everyone is gardening and watching the spring transformations after such a long winter.

I can’t wait until we can put the coats, boots and all the winter gear completely away- It’s always so nice when you can just walk outside into the warm air!

I look forward to being able to socialize and mingle more with the neighbors as we all gather to watch our kids play whether it’s in the street, around bonfires or at BBQ’s.

I look forward to walking along the woodland trails- taking the scenic route to pick up some frozen yogurt from the center of town…. one time last year we spotted deer, mid day, just lounging in the brush next to the trail!

IMG_3990
I took this when we spotted the deer. They were so close! Do you see the one?

I look forward to having my windows open to let the fresh breeze in- even if it will trigger my allergies and make me sneeze.

I am enjoying the spring purge and cleaning I have been slowly attempting over the past few days. (There is something about tossing things into the donation pile and reorganizing that makes me smile) 

You know what? Just writing down everything I look forward to has improved my ‘April Showers’ mood. Further proof that the power of writing things down works (or the caffeine has finally kicked in…..)

That said….

I still want the freakin’ sun to come out already!!!!

What about you?

Do you also find S.A.D (Seasonal Affective Disorder) or the weather plays a role in your moods and depression?

What are you looking forward to the most about Spring and Summer weather?

Are the flowers and trees already blooming where you are?

I will leave you with those questions (Feel free to answer in the comments!) and some photos I have taken over the years of Spring popping up in my area of Canada-land!

*These photos were taken by me during various Springs from 2013-2015 and are featured on my Instagram account. The majority were taken on the Niagara Escarpment on the Bruce Trail. The Small Waterfall is Felkers Falls in Stoney Creek Ontario. The Large Waterfall- is of The American Falls in Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada. The snake is one I snapped when it slithered out in front of me on a nature walk. I screamed then took the picture before running off. Naturally my dog Otis has turned up in these pics for his fans! The purple flowers were in Niagara On The Lake, Ontario. The Featured Image is of a Watercolor I painted.  The Deer photograph was taken on a walking trail in the Windsor area- Ontario. All Images: ©TheyOnceCalledHerPumpkin

Today’s post inspired by the Daily Prompt Word: Cusp

