It’s Wednesday- Which means ANOTHER BOOK RECOMMENDATION!

Last week’s theme was FUNNY and I shared this book with you: Kathy Griffin’s Celebrity Run-In’s From A-Z

This week-I am coming at you with something incredibly thrilling. So much so that I could not for the life of me- put it down!

Reenie’s Book Recommendation: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough.

Synopsis: 

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake, but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend. But she also just happens to be married to David. And if you think you know where this story is going, think again, because Behind Her Eyes is like no other book you’ve read before.

David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife. But then why is David so controlling? And why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong. But Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

In Behind Her Eyes, Sarah Pinborough has written a novel that takes the modern day love triangle and not only turns it on its head, but completely reinvents it in a way that will leave readers reeling.

Oh where do I even begin??? 

We are only a few months into 2017 and I will say that Behind Her Eyes is one of the top novels that I have read so far this year.  (And now that I have read it- I doubt anything will surpass it) This novel is all the rage in recent months among bibliophiles and is discussed nonstop in the book forums and groups I belong to. It is a New York Times Bestseller with so much buzz that I had to give in to peer pressure and buy it before my head exploded from curiosity.  Now that I *have* read it- I am kicking myself for not buying a physical copy. I purchased this one for my Kobo- but now I need a hard-copy for my shelves. I know that this is a novel that my oldest daughter may want to read eventually (and some books just deserve bonus bookshelf status!) 

Behind Her Eyes is a well crafted psychological thriller. Each chapter is dedicated to a different point of view of one of the three lead characters, though in some chapters- the narrative is mysterious-lending to the thrill of what is taking place on the pages. Some things are happening in the past as well as in the present. The author did NOT miss a beat with creating the suspense. The creepy feeling builds and builds as the story is pieced together much like a puzzle that will eventually blow your freakin’ mind.

The key players:

Louise- A single mom, living what seems to be a rather mundane existence as a part time receptionist.

David- Louise’s new boss, Adele’s husband….Man of many secrets and questionable control issues.

Adele- David’s Wife. Homemaker. Louise’s new BFF. Adele is probably my favorite character of them all.

Have you ever read a book where you wanted to throttle one of the main characters? Perhaps you can relate-I have this thing when I read, for the most part- on some level, I want to be able to connect to the lead character. I want to have ‘something’ in common with them which helps me understand where she/he may be going with their journey as the novel progresses.

I could not do this with Behind Her Eyes. I actually wanted to jump into the book and throttle Louise for her attitude and actions. She was actually my least favorite character- and considering there is a shifty married couple to question- you can imagine my surprise that I have a problem with the one who seems the least guilty out of what goes on in the story. I really can’t tell you any more then that without spoiling the novel (Which is against my religion) All you need to know going into this book is that this is one love triangle that will mess with your mind and all the characters are royally messed up….in more ways then you will ever imagine!

If you are familiar with this novel– you are most likely aware that the one thing everyone is chatting about in regards to Behind Her Eyes is the ending.

Oh the ending!

It is truly a work of art and there is a reason that everyone who has read the novel can’t stop talking about it! From what I have noticed from online chatter is that we readers fall into two categories: Really LOVE The Ending and Really Hate The Ending.

(Which one category will you fall into?)

I loved it- Oh how I loved the ending– but my goodness this novel gave me a massive book hangover. I actually haven’t been able to bring myself to figure out what to read next- I actually think about the ending of this novel every night as I try to fall asleep. That is how much of an impact the entire story had on me! (I always have a great respect for authors who mess with my mind- is that strange? The answer is NO- not for a book nerd!)

(I hope to finally shake it off today and go through my TBR pile for my next read) 

I personally think Sarah Pinborough is a storytelling wizard. This was not the first novel that I have read by her- but it certainly is now my favorite title that she has written. As someone who loves to write and who enjoys twists and turns- this author is one I applaud! She has the craft down. Her work is certainly to be admired and if they don’t turn Behind Her Eyes into a movie- I will be shocked.

It’s time for you to check out and admire her stories for yourself!

Please check out her website: https://sarahpinborough.com

Grab yourself a copy of Behind Her Eyes.

You will thank me for making this your next read.

Happy Reading!

 

Authors Note: If you do (or have) read a book that have I recommended- Please let me know in the blog comments! I would love to hear from you if you have read it! I just ask that you post absolutely NO SPOILERS for those who may have not read it yet! I will be moderating the comments to make sure this does not happen! 

