I would like to tell you that I have been busy reading this week- but if you want the truth I am still in ‘book hangover’ mode after reading last weeks book recommendation ‘Behind Her Eyes’ by Sarah Pinborough. (I can only think of one other novel that has messed with my mind this much… I really should blog about it at some point…..) I have tried to read a few different novels but I am having difficulty concentrating. Hopefully I snap out of it soon- my ‘To Be Read’ pile keeps growing and I would like to put some sort of dent in it!

I digress…..

Last week’s theme was ‘Something Thrilling’

This week I am sharing with you a more emotional read, a real ‘grab the tissues’ and maybe a glass of wine novel. (I would pair it with a Merlot….. but I know from when I read it that it goes great with Strawberry Daiquiris)

‘It Ends With Us’ by Colleen Hoover.

Synopsis:

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all-too-human characters, It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.


My Take:

This was a novel I picked up while wandering through the book store- stocking up on reads for my vacation to Cuba earlier this year. I don’t believe I have read any novels by Colleen Hoover before- but I was attracted to the cover and the title. I thought it looked beautiful (Sometimes I really do judge a book by the cover!) Turning the novel over in my hands- I remember reading the synopsis and thinking “Hmmmm. I like the premise of this one….into the pile it goes…..”

I have to say- after reading the synopsis, I had expected a typical romance novel and I just assumed it may be more dramatic then most. On that beach in Varadero as I read this book- I was completely swept away by the story and turned into an absolute blubbering mess as I read.

DSCF0492
The view from my lounge chair

 

 

 

This isn’t your average love story. I was completely way off base with that assumption- the relationship between Lily and Ryle is extremely complex, even more so when the love triangle appears.

We learn about the characters, relationships etc… not only through present tense but through Lily’s journal diaries that take us into the past with her relationship with Atlas- her first love who suddenly reappears in her life.

Lily Bloom- (That name though….) She is the lead protagonist and the story is told through her eyes.  The novel starts off with her ‘meet cute’ with Ryle as she is contemplating death (though not her own) on top of a building…… You will find as the novel progresses that she is full of strength, has a huge heart and a fondness for Ellen DeGeneres.

(Can you blame her? Ellen is amazing!!!) 

The entire novel is beautifully written- at times gut-wrenching. The ending is oddly satisfying. The story wasn’t exactly as I expected- but it was so much more. 

Now, I am sure by now you know that I do not post spoilers and I try to tell you what I liked about the book without giving away the plot or any of the important tidbits or bombshells. This makes reviewing a book hard– which is why I prefer using the term ‘recommendations’ rather then ‘review’.

I don’t want to tell you too much about ‘It Ends With Us’ – as I do not want to give anything away- but you need to know that this novel tells an important story- one that has some basis in truth from the authors personal life story. She will actually go into an explanation of why she felt compelled to write this novel when you come to the end.

(And do not flip to the end to read that Authors Note first- you may end up ruining the whole book!)  

Colleen Hoover is an incredibly gifted story teller who turned me into fan of her work that day on the beach in Cuba. I just could not put it down (except to apply sunscreen and place an order for more drinks!) I actually read through it fairly quickly- just a few hours. As was the case with last weeks recommendation, this book left me with a hangover that had me thinking- but for completely different reasons.

When an author pours this much of her heart and soul into her words and the story she has created, it is important to make sure people know to read that tale – always take the time to leave a review and recommend it to others.

I highly recommend ‘It Ends With Us’ to anyone who enjoys not only a romance, but the lessons life can teach us. This is a book to be discussed in book clubs and in online forums. This is a book that may (and should!) resonate with you for quite awhile once completed.

For more information on Colleen Hoover and her novels, Here is the link to her website: https://www.colleenhoover.com/

To read my other book suggestions: Please click the ‘Book Recommendation’ tab on the side bar.

Happy Reading!


Question Time

Let us know the answers in the comments!

Have you read any books by this particular author? 

As she is a new author to me- If you have read her novels: What other books of hers can you recommend to me and the rest of my readers? 

Without adding spoilers to your comments- Let me know if you have read this one and what you thought about it!

(Note: I will moderate the comments and delete/not publish any that have spoilers in them)

