Nora Roberts.

She is probably one of the most recognizable authors names out there.

Last Week I brought you Something Emotional: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

This week- I am bringing you Nora.

The Obsession Synopsis:  “She stood in the deep, dark woods, breath shallow and cold prickling over her skin despite the hot, heavy air. She took a step back, then two, as the urge to run fell over her.”

Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous. No matter how close she gets to happiness, she can’t outrun the sins of Thomas David Bowes.

Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, a rambling old house in need of repair, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the kindly residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up—especially the determined Xander Keaton.

Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But the sins of her father can become an obsession, and, as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.

Have you read any of her books before?

I’ll admit I was late to the game with Nora Roberts novels- I only started reading her a few years ago and was instantly hooked. She became one of my ‘go-to’ authors. When I read- every time I need a break in genre- or anytime I need something ‘comfortable’ -Nora is one of my ‘go-to’s’ whether it is with a title of hers I haven’t yet read or if it is a book I have already read- but want to do so again.

More often then not- Nora Roberts Novels are just what the doctor ordered!

 ‘The Obsession’ was an ‘on-a-whim’ purchase (I can never ignore those 40% off stickers…) that has helped bring me out of my Behind Her Eyes (Sarah Pinsborough) hangover!! I should have known it would be Nora to cure what ailed me. She has a knack for that.

I wasn’t even halfway through this novel before I realized that it has already become my favorite Nora Roberts read. In my opinion- this novel blows all her other work out of the water- and I am a big fan of her novels. I don’t know what it is about this one that makes it stand out to me more then the others- The Plot? The Characters? The Writing?

Who knows.

Naomi Bowes: Main protagonist- and most of the time the novel is from her perspective-sometimes changing over to that of other characters as the story pieces together. Naomi is quite feisty- she has to be after the life she has experienced. I really liked her fire and drive as she is on a path (albeit somewhat unwillingly) to self discovery. As with all Nora books- of course there is a romantic angle (Enter Xander Keaton) but I found this romance was a bit more ‘relatable’ and less ‘corny’ then some of the other books (Yes- I judge those types of things when I read)  I still can’t really explain what it is about this novel that really makes it stand out to me – but I found based on what I love to read in a novel- it was just the perfect recipe for a page turner. There was so much balance between the story-lines and not as much fluff as one would expect and I liked that!

I will admit to having predicted the ending early on- but at one point I did end up questioning my theory, thus I will let that slide. I have to say that I was relieved to have finished a book that didn’t leave me with a hangover. This one actually left me with the desire to immediately read it again (I do this sometimes) – however, considering my huge TBR pile- I will be tackling that instead and saving The Obsession for another day….(Like when I need to again cure an inevitable book hangover) 

If you haven’t read anything by Nora Roberts- I recommend her. She is a great ‘comfort read’ author.

If you haven’t read ‘The Obsession’–  Do IT!!! (Peer Pressure!)

It’s a must for those who like a bit of a thriller. I certainly think you need to add it to your collection!

Just a few other Nora Roberts titles I enjoy:

The Villa

Blue Smoke

The Witness

The ‘Dream’ Trilogy: Daring To Dream, Holding The Dream, Finding The Dream

The Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy: The Next Always, The Last Boyfriend, The Perfect Hope

The Three Sisters Island Trilogy: Dance Upon the Air, Heaven and Earth, Face The Fire

The Key Trilogy: Key Of Light, Key Of Knowledge, Key of Valor

(I could keep going but this will get long!) 

Learn More about Novels by Nora Roberts by clicking here to visit her website!

Happy Reading!

(As always- if you have read this novel and want to leave a comment/your thoughts on the book- Please do so- but please keep it spoiler free! I will be moderating them to avoid any spoilers for those who haven’t read it yet!) 

