I have been desperately searching for novels that aren’t too racy (raunchy) and aren’t too sugary sweet. Not that I discount those types of romantic novels- however sometimes I am just in a mood to read a romance that has a certain balance to them. I want a solid plot line that doesn’t completely revolve around the relationship- I want to read something that has a good backstory and is more then just ‘hey let’s whisper sweet nothings to each other and then play a game of pickle tickle’

I love a story that has a mix of elements that balances the book out. 

I am so happy that I have stumbled upon New York Times Bestselling Author Julie James and her latest contemporary romance novel: The Thing About Love

Synopsis: FBI agents Jessica Harlow and John Shepherd have a past. The former lawyer and cocky Army Ranger clashed during their training at Quantico and gladly went their separate ways after graduating from the Academy. Six years later, the last thing either of them expects is to be assigned to work as partners in a high-profile undercover sting.

For both of them, being paired with an old rival couldn’t come at a worse time. Recently divorced from a Hollywood producer and looking for a fresh start, Jessica is eager to prove herself at her new field office. And John is just one case away from his dream assignment to the FBI’s elite Hostage Rescue Team. In order to nail a corrupt Florida politician, they’ll have to find a way to work together—a task that becomes even trickier when they’re forced to hole up at a romantic beachfront resort as part of the investigation. Suddenly, the heat behind their nonstop sparring threatens to make the job a lot more complicated…

My Take:

My first impression of this novel was a deep sense of a relief. It was exactly what I had been looking for- I go through genre/novel phases (if you haven’t noticed by the eclectic selections I have been providing you with) and my mood literally depends on what book I am going to buy or read.

I have a ‘To Be Read’ pile that is growing wildly out of control on both my bookshelf and on my Kobo e-reader. I added ‘The Thing About Love‘ to my pile after a whirlwind trip to the bookstore last weekend- I’m not going to lie- I judged the book by it’s cover (love it) and I loved the concept.

Confession: I am a sucker for a romance novel where the two characters have a past and some animosity issues that need worked out.

I feel like I struck gold with ‘The Thing About Love‘- It had all the elements I wanted. A great backstory where we learn about why lead protagonists John Shepherd and Jessica Harlow are where they are, why they are the way they are…. and why they are not so thrilled to be working together.

The novel had a solid plot line- both their stories come together in one story about how these FBI agents struggle with their jobs and their relationships. The story is told from both characters points of view- so you can really understand their emotions. The plot builds seamlessly leading to a satisfying conclusion.

It had tension filled, witty and enjoyable romance and with a bit of heat. It was the right amount of sexy for this kind of book- it was enough to make you understand what these characters were feeling- and the romance felt authentic. I loved how John and Jessica meshed with each other!

I found it was a hard story to put down. I was a sad when the book ended- I wanted to keep reading! It’s perfect romantic reading for wherever you are: Beach, Bathtub, Rainy Day, Before Bed… Ignoring the housework……..

I highly enjoyed the writing style and I have now added Julie James to my list of ‘Must Read’ authors and her books are now going to have a home on my bookshelf- Coincidentally- I write this knowing that my children are treating me to a round of shopping at the local bookstore for Mother’s Day- Guess who’s novels I will be after?


Update: I wrote this a few days ago- and since than I have purchased a few of her novels and flown through them…..(To the point I really need to pay less attention to what is clearly my latest author phase and more to the housework….) I  was disappointed to find only two of her novels available at my local Chapters, however, this is ‘2017’ so not having these books available in my bookstore hasn’t stopped me -The rest I purchased as e-books on my Kobo. (Though I will be purchasing them for my bookshelf eventually) I am actually in resistance mode right now, sitting here…trying not to log onto my Kobo account to buy ‘just one more……’

Needless to say, I am thoroughly enjoying all of her books so far and I can’t wait to read the rest!

I also recommend her titles: 

        Something About You

IMG_4563

About That Night 

Love Irresistibly

It Happened One Wedding

Suddenly One Summer

So there you have it- if you are looking for a great contemporary romance – You have one author with several great books to choose from!!

For more information on Julie James and her novels, please visit her website: http://juliejames.com/

Happy Reading! 

(As always- if you have read this novel and want to leave a comment/your thoughts on the book- Please do so- but please keep it spoiler free! I will be moderating them to avoid any spoilers for those who haven’t read it yet!) 

Feel free to hit the ‘Book Recommendation Tab’ on the sidebar to find more Spoiler Free- Book Recommendations and keep checking back on Wednesdays when I try to update them for you! 

