Today is officially the first day of summer!

(And my husbands birthday…..)

Summer means it is time for us to put our feet up, bask in the sunshine while we treat ourselves to some Vitamin D!

Of course while lounging outside- it only makes sense to use that time to catch up on our reading- right?

If you are looking for a great poolside or beach novel- May I suggest to you one of my latest reads?

Making Waves by Laura Moore

Synopsis: As the responsible daughter of an irresponsible socialite, Dakota Hale has plenty of practice catering to the whims of the rich and spoiled—and she’s turned that experience into a thriving concierge business serving the needs of the Hamptons’ wealthy elite. But anytime the drama on land gets too outrageous, Dakota finds calm surfing the Atlantic waves. But when sexy mogul Max Carr hires her, it rocks her balance in a big way.

Max works hard, but he’s never had to put any effort into winning over a woman—until now. With her stunning beauty and keen intelligence, Dakota is worth the effort. But it’s plain she has no interest in a casual fling, and that’s all Max, with his grief-stricken heart, can offer. But one fraught night changes everything, with consequences neither Dakota nor Max anticipated. Now they must navigate the rough waters of society gossip and devastating secrets that threaten their fragile relationship. If they can trust in the strength of their growing feelings, they’ll find that the dreams they’ve been chasing are close enough to embrace . . . together.

After picking up a few books recently and not being able to finish them…..(Ugh it is like an epidemic of bad book choices lately…..) I found this particular one on my last trip to the book store. The cover caught my eye and I was on board with the synopsis.

As much as the book sounded great, I will admit that I was weary about how this would work out for me- After all- the last few books I have purchased have failed miserably and are now sitting on my shelf waiting for me to decided if I am going to try again or give up. I didn’t want to get stuck with another dud. Thank Goodness Making Waves turned out to be even better then I had anticipated!

(Sometimes you just don’t want to get your hopes up!) 

Making Waves is quite a refreshing romance. Thankfully (in my opinion) it didn’t exactly follow the typical ‘Romance Novel Formula’. All the elements were there, however, in places that I would have anticipated the characters to behave a certain way- or expect a major plot twist or conflict…. they never happened in the manner that I am used to. The key elements were there- but one particular plot twist took me by surprise- I hadn’t anticipated it- I was expecting something else. (Was it me having an off day or was it the writing? Regardless- as the book is well written, I’m going to give the author credit on this one! ) This pleased me as a reader who has been looking for something fresh… (Then again- I recently re-read the majority of my favorite Judith McNaught novels and a couple of Nora Roberts…..and we know as great as they are- how those novels can be extremely repetitive in their formula…) 

I found it was a hard novel to put down- so I just put my feet up and ignored the real world and got to know Dakota and Max… (It was a bright sunny day- the housework could wait….)  

My Take:

Making Waves is full of emotion, amusement, family drama- ultimately culminating in a story that will warm your heart! 

Favorite Character: Piper (Just wait until you meet her….. WOW) 


As per my rule when I recommend these novels to you- I don’t want to give away any spoilers- Which kinda sucks because there is a topic in this novel which I would love to touch on- because I can somewhat relate to it…. but I will have to save that for another day….another post… I would hate to ruin the surprise for you…..

I was sad when the novel ended. I wish the story had kept going….

If you are looking for a well written- contemporary romance, featuring an independent woman, a handsome business mogul, and some crazy ass mother….. I highly recommend picking this one up to read this summer!

I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did!

I have added Laura Moore to my list of ‘Must Read Authors’ and I think you should too!

Happy Reading!

For more information on books by Laura Moore– Please visit her website at: http://www.lauramoorebooks.com/

Question: Are YOU a Laura Moore fan? Which of her novels would you recommend for me to try next? Let me know in the comments! 


(As always- if you have read this novel and want to leave a comment/your thoughts on the book- Please do so- but please keep it spoiler free! I will be moderating them to avoid any spoilers for those who haven’t read it yet!) 

Feel free to hit the ‘Book Recommendation Tab’ on the sidebar to find more Spoiler Free- Book Recommendations and keep checking back on Wednesdays when I try to update them for you! 

