There are two types of people in this world:

Morning People

and

People Who Want To Throttle Morning PeopleΒ (Otherwise known as Night Owls)

(I do have a friend who disagrees with this and says she is a Mid-Day person……I did not realize such a creature exists!)Β 

For the most part, I happen to be a Night Owl… I have gone through phases where I have been a morning person- I can be if I know we are leaving on vacation or if it is September and the new school routine has started… There really has to be a good reason and plenty of coffee..tea…or even a mimosa…

Vacations: I am a morning person on tropical vacations! I am up and on that beach around six a.m. happily taking pictures and taking in the scenery! Like this shot I took in Cuba!

img_2759

I wish I could be someone who jumps out of bed at six a.m. to pound the gym…alas I would rather wake up at ten a.m.- drink coffee and lounge while my body and mind adjust to this ‘awake’ thing…..THAN hit the gym. Sounds perfectly reasonable to me.

(Don’t get me wrong- I actually do work out in the mornings but not until I have at least consumed my coffee and I won’t lie… it is not with great cheer and certainly not without a few curse words…)

I have tried to shift my clock- It only works for so long before I have to hit reset. I blame my insomnia for this (Oh did I mention….?) If you read my Father’s Day Tribute to my Dad- you will know I have inherited quite a bit from him… The Night-Owl thing is one of them. We are two extremely grumpy peas in a morning pod…

In the past year and a half, with my illness showing up a lot- My mother has spent a lot of time with us. Debbie is a morning person. I am going to call her Debbie for this topic- because how I can be related to such a cheery, peppy morning person I will never know…

My youngest daughter is also a morning person. While I was recovering from my surgery in March and April, like clockwork at seven-thirty in the freakin’ morning while they made pancakes and I tried to sleep- all I could hear throughout the house was the cheerful off-key tune of ‘Zip-a-dee-doo dah’ sang on repeat…

ON REPEAT!!!!!

…Until they left to go to the school bus over an hour later…

Thank God I was on painkillers…

Look- I am glad that they were happy. All I want in life is for my kids and mom to be happy…

It just needs to be done in an orderly fashion after ten a.m and a gallon of coffee!!!

No…

I am not a Morning Person.

It does not bode well for today. I have a million things to do before the first of our weekend company arrives this afternoon. I have lost a couple of days of housework this week because I have been sick (Ugh- It never ends!) and now I have to run around like a crazy person this morning, cleaning and preparing everything for not only their visit- but for the start of the Kitchen Renovation…

Yet here I sit drinking another strong cup of tea…

Typing a blog…

Procrastinating…

Trying to shake myself awake…

It’s a good thing all my best work happens under pressure!


What about YOU?

Are you a Morning Person, a ‘Mid-Day’ Person or a Night-Owl!

Let me know in the comments!

